Rear Wheel Offset?

This section is for all posts concerning frame design and construction.
Nero
Tourist
SELF INTRODUCTION: I'm an informatic engineer who just happened to leave his (relatively well paid) job to follow his passion and going to work at minimum wage as a CAD designer and a welder in a CNC laser cutting & general sheet metal fabrication shop.
In the meanwhile, I try to build a killer bike with whatever I have at hand...

Rear Wheel Offset?

Post by Nero »

I was taking some measurments from a rear 6" channel rim taken from a Kawasaki ZX-12R complete with the axle and all the spacers and collars (it comes with a 200/50 tyre by factory) and it seems that the wheel is off-center by about 10mm-15mm (0.5"-0.59") to the right hand side (drive side is wider than brake side).
Situazione ruota post.JPG
Situazione ruota post.JPG (16.41 KiB) Viewed 6377 times
Considering that I will build the frame from scratch, I suppose that I'm faced with 3 choices:

1) build an asymmetric frame;
2) widen the space between the axle plates, and machine suitable spacers to make the tyre centerline coincident with the frame centerline;
3) use all the factory pieces the rim came with, and keep the wheel offsetted to the right.

I excluded option 1) almost immediately, I was evaluating option 2) but, considering the fact that I will be use a unit engine taken from a Yamaha Diversion 600, which used a 130 tyre, centering the wheel in the frame will shift the rear sprocket more towards the outside in respect fo the front sprocket, with more space to gain back to allign them from offsetting the engine/front sprocket, so maybe option no. 3) would be the best solution... the easiest for sure... :roll:

So waddaya think? Is it an acceptable compromise?
What I'm currently working at (and some free Italian's lessons also :D ) : http://costafabbricustomchoppers.blogspot.com/
gww25
Site Grandaddy