2 Frame Questions From a Newbie!

This section is for all posts concerning frame design and construction.
DocOctane
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: I'm a professional graphic designer by trade and I attempt to be a shade tree mechanic on my free time. I'm working on a 65 VW beetle project right now but I acquired some motorcycles so...... Chop chop time.

2 Frame Questions From a Newbie!

Post by DocOctane »

Greetings folks. I'm new to the forums but, I'm hoping this place will be a good resource for a project I'm working on. I'm also new to chopper building but I'd like to think I'm mechanically inclined enough to handle a small personal build. (With all of your help of course. :cool:)

Here's a quick run down of where I started. I scored a couple Honda XR Dirt Bikes on the cheap so I thought "why not?" I'll chop one up. So currently I'm looking to figure out a way to use the existing axle plates & brake stop mechanism on the swing arm and tie them into a hard tail. If you are familiar with these bikes they don't have a single backbone down tube. The backbone stops just behind the gas tank and splits into two down tubes that mate with the bottom of the frame (essentially the front portion of the frame is like a cage around the engine). A quick google search for a Honda XR200,250, or 350 and you will see what I'm working with.