Learn to weld

An area for general welding posts that don't seem to fit anywhere else.
bugs789
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: 34 year old working in IT Support in the education sector, just starting out I have some knowledge of bikes though and have owned maintained and ridden them for the last 10 years, but would like to get more into building modifying and metal work.

Learn to weld

Post by bugs789 »

Hi all,

I'm looking to teach myself to be a half decent welder. I have tried the local college and they want £700 for the course I then tried a company but they want £250 a day. I can't afford either so I thought I'd try teaching myself by buying a car door from a local scrap dealer I was going to cut it up and weld it back together.

Eventually I'd like to be able to weld my own chopper frame but that's a long way off I don't really have any welding experience.

Is this a good way to start or is there an easier way
Jeff L
Contributor
SELF INTRODUCTION: Hey...I live in South Jersey (the Super Fund State) work as an Operating Engineer local825.Besides bikes I love to fish the surf.I have my current & seemingly endless project a BSA 750 Rocket3, a 72 Honda CB750,79 Kawasaki KZ1000, 48 Simplex, & a 62 Norton Atlas engine

Re: Learn to weld

Post by Jeff L »

I would just get some 1"x1/8"x3' steel.You can practice running beads on top of it with filler rod.Then cut it up in sections.You can butt weld, do inside & outside corner welds with the cut up sections.Donthe same with some 1/8 tube.You'll also be able to practice prepping the joints.You really cannt go wrong taking a class though.
Changing the shape of the Earth...1 bucket at a time...IUOE local 825 top of the food chain
rakeNtrail
Lurker