Stroking stock flywheels

An area for all Q&A's about machining.
Questionerofall
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: Been around bikes my whole life & riding since 16. First bike was more or less a basket-case 73 sporty. Welder by trade these days, have been to MMI (harley program). Currently beginning a teardown, chop & rebuild project on a 1980 flt.

Stroking stock flywheels

Post by Questionerofall »

Contemplating the potential of increasing my stock flywheel stroke from 4.250" up to 4.500". Any advice would be appreciated.
Semper Fidelis
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
railroad bob
Contributor
SELF INTRODUCTION: Hi Dan, thanks for your time and energy spent on this new board. I hope you will give me a waiver on the email account, I have used gmail so long I don't have a clue what my service provider account is.
I just returned home from a 2 week trip in New Mexico, have a few good pix, can't wait to share my off-highway traveling. Got to put 1400 miles on the scoot.

Best, Bob Davidson

Re: Stroking stock flywheels

Post by railroad bob »

Any advice would be general, since you don't say what motor your using.
There is more than one way to do this, and there are several pros and cons.
There are many things to consider. Best to buy a current high performance book for the engine you have and study, study, study.

If you want more detailed advice, give more details. What kind of motor, how are ya gonna ride, what do you want to accomplish, etc., etc., etc.
What else do you plan to do to it? Stroking is just one feature of a true performance package.

*Edit* AND, stroking is not always part of a high performance motor.
Alaska - Land of the Individual and Other Endangered Species
An Armed Society is a Polite Society,...
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
TANSTAAFL
gearhead1951
Builder
SELF INTRODUCTION: I am an expat tennessee hillbilly and retired us navy engineer livin' in Scotland and I have a love of old cars , trucks, motorcycles and most any other machinery !