My girder & frame project - Anything blatantly wrong?

Try using this area for frontend information.
Nero
Tourist
SELF INTRODUCTION: I'm an informatic engineer who just happened to leave his (relatively well paid) job to follow his passion and going to work at minimum wage as a CAD designer and a welder in a CNC laser cutting & general sheet metal fabrication shop.
In the meanwhile, I try to build a killer bike with whatever I have at hand...

My girder & frame project - Anything blatantly wrong?

Post by Nero »

Ok guys, I was finally able to came away with the solution showed below for my frame and its front end.
The frame will accomodate a 4 in-line, 600cc Yamaha unit engine (I will have to replace the airbox with some filter cones to avoid interference with the backbone, but that shouldn't be a problem... :roll: )
The wheels are stolen from a Kawasazi ZX 12-R (200/50 rear tyre).
The girder's shock is a rear shock from an Honda Rebel 250.

General dimensions (in millimeters, I've already converted them below for you imperial guys and for blonde, sweet girls off course... :mrgreen: ) :
Choppa 2 Dimensions.JPG
Choppa 2 Dimensions.JPG (163.06 KiB) Viewed 6267 times
Rake: 40°
Trail: 77.88mm [3.06"]
Neck Height (measured from the right end of the lower cup, as in Gary's drawing): 642.03mm [25.27"]
Ground clearence: 108.64mm [4.27"]
Front axle height: 300mm [11.81"]
Rear axle height: 315mm [12.40"]
Wheel base: 1796.94 [70.74"]

Girder length: 750mm [29.52"]
Girder links length from center to center: 110mm [4.3"]

Some girder's shots:
Girder - Top 1.JPG
Girder - Top 1.JPG (129.18 KiB) Viewed 6267 times
Girder - Top 2.JPG
Girder - Top 2.JPG (129.1 KiB) Viewed 6267 times
Girder - Top 3.JPG
Girder - Top 3.JPG (156.64 KiB) Viewed 6267 times
Girder - Bottom 2.JPG
Girder - Bottom 2.JPG (131.63 KiB) Viewed 6267 times