"Assembled" steering stem?

Try using this area for frontend information.
Nero
Tourist
SELF INTRODUCTION: I'm an informatic engineer who just happened to leave his (relatively well paid) job to follow his passion and going to work at minimum wage as a CAD designer and a welder in a CNC laser cutting & general sheet metal fabrication shop.
In the meanwhile, I try to build a killer bike with whatever I have at hand...

"Assembled" steering stem?

Post by Nero »

Hi guys,
I was planning about using some SKF bearings with an internal hole of 25mm (1") for my bike (I've already have them) and place them on an accordingly dimensioned steering stem turned in the lathe from a mild steel 25mm bar, threaded in the upper portion to an M24x3mm to accept the jam nut and the steering nut.
This was the original plan, but then I thought that maybe I could save some work if I just bought a 24mm threaded bar (maybe 10.9, so that I will be quite sure that it's strong enough for the task..), screw and weld it into the tapped lower yoke, and sleeve & plug weld it with a bushing of 25mm OD (and obviously 24mm ID) for the remaining part, except for the final part, where I will need the threads once again. Something like what it's often done to build a girder's shaft, I mean.
What do you think, is the sleeve going to be a little bit too thin? (it will end up having a wall thickness of 0.5mm, which, btw, is about 0.02"...)
At the end it 's there just to "thicken" up the threaded bar up to the right size to have an interference fit with the lower bearing, and I don't think it will deform while I press/hammer it in, because there's always the threaded bar inside... right? :roll:
What I'm currently working at (and some free Italian's lessons also :D ) : http://costafabbricustomchoppers.blogspot.com/
jimmib
Lurker