Hole saw through metal

Try using this area for frontend information.
Cycle-psycho
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: I've loved motorcycles all my life! I have a 2006 Dyna that ive been customizing and I am now taking on the task of building a custom chopper!
I have some mechanical skills, but im not a professional mechanic or welder. Simply a home garage type of mechanic.

Hole saw through metal

Post by Cycle-psycho »

Hey,
Im building my springer and i have the trees cut out and pilot holes drilled. I have started to try to cut the 1.25" holes for the legs and im using a bi-metal holes saw and a drill press. Im finding it is realy sloooooow, almost not cutting. Is this normal? Should i be drilling on high speed with less torque or low speed with high torque? What lube should i use?
Any tips and info would be realy appreciated. At this rate, it seems like i will be standing at the drill press for days to do one hole!
-----------------
Cycle-psycho
2006 Dyna - with lots of goodies
2012 Ultima rigid - under construction
hansgoudzwaard
Contributor
SELF INTRODUCTION: I was on the last board as bonustoolkit. I have changed that to my given name.
I started a project build there " File and Fit." I paln to continue that when I go back home in Dec. 2011. I first joined the board when Gary W had it in the year 2005. That was the time I really gained an interest in building chops. I have a long way to go, compared to some here.

Re: Hole saw through metal

Post by hansgoudzwaard »

http://www.chopperhandbook.com/springbuild.htm

scroll to Fig. 44-45.

The few times I've done this, I usually go pretty slow.
gww25
Site Grandaddy
SELF INTRODUCTION: I'm just an old chopper builders who still dabbles in the craft and I hope that I can contribute something to the discussions as time goes by. Most of you already know that I started the Chopper Builders Handbook site so you're probably already familiar with my philosophy on choppers and chopper work.

Post by gww25 »