steering stack

Try using this area for frontend information.
Cycle-psycho
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: I've loved motorcycles all my life! I have a 2006 Dyna that ive been customizing and I am now taking on the task of building a custom chopper!
I have some mechanical skills, but im not a professional mechanic or welder. Simply a home garage type of mechanic.

steering stack

Post by Cycle-psycho »

I am trying to get my steering stack set up and I am getting conflicting information. On the top side of the stem, there should be:
-bearing
-dustcover
-star nut
-tab washer
-jam nut
-tree
-top nut
Now what confuses me is that sometimes i see that the jam nut is omitted and the tree and top nut seem to take its place. Is this acceptable? I am having clearance issues with my hardware as the star nut i have is about 3/8" thick, then add the tab washer and a jam nut, and there is about 3/4" of stuff to try to bury into the tree in order to hide it. my tree is 3/4" thick, so I cant hide it all. I guess i could cut another 3/4" piece to weld to the underside of the tree that will hide the stack.
How thin can I make the tree in the stack area before it gets dangerous? is the connection of the tree to the stack/stem the main securement point, or is the connection of the tree to the main legs the main securement point? Or all three points (stem and two leg ends)?
Thanks for any help....
-----------------
Cycle-psycho
2006 Dyna - with lots of goodies
2012 Ultima rigid - under construction
gww25
Site Grandaddy
SELF INTRODUCTION: I'm just an old chopper builders who still dabbles in the craft and I hope that I can contribute something to the discussions as time goes by. Most of you already know that I started the Chopper Builders Handbook site so you're probably already familiar with my philosophy on choppers and chopper work.

Re: steering stack

Post by gww25 »