FIRST BUILD BUELL XB9...sort of

Post your ongoing projects in this section.
ta borom
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: Ok, i am from Gozo, Malta, a very small island in the Mediterranean... i work as a Renal Nurse at the local General Hospital and like to chop motorcycles and build all the odd things for bikes. I mainly work with steel but like to incorporate my skills into other metal fab as well especially stainless steel and aluminium.

FIRST BUILD BUELL XB9...sort of

Post by ta borom »

So, as some of you may recognise me from another forum...this is my first build....it is still undergoing construction, but since I am new here, I thought i'll share my sickness with you...

started off with a Buell xb9 engine, some xb parts from E bay...front end and rear swinger and a couple of wheels....

I built the jig first and then bought the original frame to set the jig fixtures accordingly since I wanted to retain all the buell geometry in the frame build...
Attachments
Image0068.jpg
Image0068.jpg (215.36 KiB) Viewed 3735 times
ta borom
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: Ok, i am from Gozo, Malta, a very small island in the Mediterranean... i work as a Renal Nurse at the local General Hospital and like to chop motorcycles and build all the odd things for bikes. I mainly work with steel but like to incorporate my skills into other metal fab as well especially stainless steel and aluminium.

Re: FIRST BUILD BUELL XB9...sort of

Post by ta borom »

The original frame
Attachments
Image0070.jpg
Image0070.jpg (243.12 KiB) Viewed 3733 times
ta borom
NewB

Post by ta borom »

measuring.....zzzzz
Attachments
Image0103.jpg
Image0103.jpg (225.63 KiB) Viewed 3733 times
ta borom
NewB

Post by ta borom »

constructed a triangular section to form the upper part of the frame...and drilled lightening holes in it...plugging them with stainless tubing
Attachments
Image0167.jpg
Image0167.jpg (173.75 KiB) Viewed 3702 times
ta borom
NewB

Post by ta borom »